I want to talk to you about OCR

tony1

Hello app creators. Weโ€™re working on a new optical character recognition (OCR) feature, and I would love to hear from you all about how you would use this feature in your apps. You can reply to this thread or shoot me an email at tony@appsheet.com.

34 84 8,286
84 REPLIES 84

@Tony Awsome. I would love to be a beta tester.

Awesome!

tony1

@Grant_Stead Text-only for now. But thatโ€™s a good idea.

Yes, this would excellent for our workflow, currently we scan a lot of forms containing Code 39, QR, and a text box. We have to press the scan button multiple times per form. It would be great if we could scan codes and text all at once and use something like regular expressions to match them to the right field. If you need help testing or developing let me know!

This is perfect! I definitely could use this!!!

As a service contractor I take pictures of model and serial numbers everyday! Then squint at the small preview in appsheet of the Model, serial etc and manually enter it into the model/serial field.

If you need a beta tester sign me UP!!!

Looks great!

Any word on what tiered plan this feature will be available for?

Cricic

Is possibile to use OCR also with PDF DOCUMENT or only Imagine?

@tony Any updates with this?

tony1

Hi everyone, Iโ€™ve added you all to the list of beta testers. This feature should be available to you on Monday afternoon (Seattle time). Please share any feedback or questions you have.

Thanks Tony. I am currently occupied on other stuff but will try to get back to this so I can provide some feedback. Appreciate your efforts to add capabilities like this.

Please @tony could you add 2 accounts for me?
I will test this for 2 clients on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Hi Tony, would it be possible to add me to the list of beta testers as well?

I could see this feature being used to digitize BOMs for our shop and/or contractor on site

@tony, please add Account 323951 to the Beta Tester List as well, please