A school test practice app

Hi,

I want to create an app that is listed as an example in the Private Tables help (https://support.google.com/appsheet/answer/10106508?hl=en) and with literally the requirements described there:

"There is a common shared set of questions, but each student's answers remain private to that student."

I don't need a complicated UI for students, just a simple table view of all the questions. The questions should be from a shared data source that only I can edit (like a Google sheet). When a student enters they should see the list of questions, with an additional column where they can add their Answer, which is unique to each user.

I am new to AppSheet and to be honest it hasn't clicked for me yet. Private tables seem like the right feature, since this specific use case is mentioned there. But I cannot figure out how to set it up; I assume it's a combination of one shared Questions table, a private Answers table, and some kind of table references to connect them. I am experienced in relational databases but could use some advice on the AppSheet way to do this.

Solved Solved
0 4 179
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Noviwan wrote:

I don't want them duplicated for each user

You wouldn't have to duplicate the questions, although you would have repeated references to the source questions. As I assume is occurring to you as a relational database designer, the skeleton of the table design could be along the lines of:

• Users table: User ID, Email, ...
  • Questions table: Question ID, Question, Correct Answer, ...
  • Responses table: User ID, Question ID, Response, ...

@Noviwan wrote:

how to do Lookup columns for example - since all the examples show it being done with a database source