Any Word On These Features Coming in the Near Future? (lazy load, record locking)

Morning, all. Been a while.

I have been on the appsheet platform making a few things for the day job for a couple of years now.  I have zero programming/app dev experience before appsheet so my view of things is often through the lens of a relatively inexperienced citizen developer.

Anyways, the apps i build for the clinic tend to all suffer from the same things, and i have found that switching to SQL instead of Google Sheets does not yield certain performance boosts i was hoping for. Seems the root cause of a lot of slow app loading, at least in my case, is due to the reliance of a lot of virtual columns due to calculations that may change frequently. It seems that appsheet does not support lazy load, so all these virtual columns for EVERY DANG ROW of all databases attached to the app(s) in question are loaded upon initial sync as opposed to on demand, thus contributing to the sluggish load time. Do we have any evidence of devs working towards a lazy load option in appsheet?The workaround of hard coding cells to avoid virtual columns is not always a great solution, unfortunately.

My other ask is regarding intelligent record locking. The sync delay can, with enough users on a given app, lead to an issue of more than one person working in the same record at the same time with no knowledge of someone being in the record in question, and can of course lead to sequential unexpected data overwrites. Is there anything in the works to help prevent users from doing this, or does anyone have any suggestions for workarounds to implement some level of record locking with visual indicators in AppSheet?

Thanks for listening.

1 5 177
5 REPLIES 5

1. App Performance