Automation Help - Create PDF from template and add link to view / print it in a virtual column

R_J
Bronze 3
Bronze 3

Hi,

I'm new to AppSheet, just 8 days in, and I'm struggling with creating a workflow that automatically generates PDFs for each row of data in my table and then display a link to view / print the PDF in a virtual column. I know questions like this have been asked frequently, and I've read through numerous threads, but most lack clarity, making it difficult to follow the steps outlined. 

Could someone please provide clear steps of the process I need to implement in order to obtain my desired results? Below is a sample of what my data looks like, with a few columns omitted for security reasons.

R_J_0-1697748399580.png

Solved Solved
0 8 880
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hello my dear, I have a different opinion about how you can achieve this. 
I have been doing that for a long time so here are my considerations:

Part 1 - App folder management

You'll need to see where your files are saved in your google drive (you can do this just by going to settings>Information and in the app property section you'll see the folder path)

peterson_1-1697798634438.png

I changed the default app folder and have in mind that they are always separated by "/". If you have /appsheet/appname123/Files - it means that every name after the slash symbol "/" is you entering in a new folder.

Part 2 - Automation settings required
Once you create your document via automation you have to pay attention to:
1. File folder path
2. File name
3. Disable timestamp
See image for reference:

peterson_2-1697798913465.png
You'll need to disable timestamp in order to make it work.

I set the file path to the folder I want. You don't need to create the folder because when you write the path, in case the subfolders don't exist the app will create them automatically.