Calculate Moving average

Hi, I am still quite new to the use of the Google App-sheet and formulas, Pardon me.

So Let me be as basic as possible. I am trying to Find out the Moving average for a scorecard with Four (4) columns

• Customer Engagement
  • Customer interactions
  • Process Compliance
  • Issue Resolution

I want App-sheet to give me an overall average even if I do not capture a value for any of the columns (which I regard as Not Applicable)

I currently use the formula 

(AVERAGE(LIST([Customer Engagement],[Issue Resolution],[Process Compliance],[Customer Handling]))), but it does not ignore a column if I don't capture a value for it

Thanks

Solved Solved
0 12 385
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I was curious and did a quick test.

TeeSee1_0-1669440499942.png

Avg Score: This, I believe, gives the expected results by @Oluwaseun 

SUM(LIST([fld1],[fld2],[fld3],[fld4]))
/ 
(
 if(isnotblank([fld1]),1,0) +
 if(isnotblank([fld2]),1,0) + 
 if(isnotblank([fld3]),1,0) + 
 if(isnotblank([fld4]),1,0)
)

This takes a score of 0 (zero) as a valid score. You can add a condition to deal with that if you want.

Avg Score 2

AVERAGE(
 LIST([fld1],[fld2],[fld3],[fld4]) - LIST("")
)

List Sub Result

Apparently list subtraction reduces its resultant list to unique elements and does not fit here.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

@Oluwaseun wrote:

ignore a column if I don't capture a value for it

You could subtract from the list any blank (or zero or other) values that you want to exclude.

@Oluwaseun wrote:

Moving average

If you mean the last n values, you may need to use the TOP function.

Aurelien
Google Developer Expert
Google Developer Expert

@dbaum wrote:

You could subtract from the list any blank (or zero or other) values that you want to exclude.

@Oluwaseun this is what you could use:

AVERAGE(
  LIST([Customer Engagement],[Issue Resolution],[Process Compliance],[Customer Handling])
  -LIST("")
)