Chart only plots a few columns, no date and time data

Hi. I have some experience with AppSheet, but it's my first time experimenting with charts and it isn't behaving as expected.

I have three slices and I'm trying to create a different line chart for each of them where I map a value against the entries' timestamp, but the software only recognizes two columns as possible series for the chart: the measurement and the row number. Timestamp is not available from the dropdown menu. I've created two virtual columns to store date only and time only info, but they don't appear either.

Igorjustigor_0-1706643474739.png

It automatically displays the entries' IDs along the x-axis though. Behaviour is similar accross all types of chart.

Why won't it let me plot the other columns' data? How can I plot them?

Thanks.

Solved Solved
0 3 106
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Igor-just-igor wrote:

but the software only recognizes two columns as possible series for the chart: the measurement and the row number

For the chart view the chart column setting option for a column series chart is always a numeric column as you can have only numeric values to plot on Y axis. So please note that measurement and rownumber would be only two numeric columns in your table.

@Igor-just-igor wrote:

where I map a value against the entries' timestamp,

I presume by this you mean you wish to have X axis as time stamp. If so, one option you could try is to make the timestamp column as label column. In general there is one timestamp per record , so if feasible in other parts of the app to have timestamp as label you could do that. AppSheet selects the label column as X axis for such charts.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

@Igor-just-igor wrote:

but the software only recognizes two columns as possible series for the chart: the measurement and the row number