Checkbox and data adding to a specific row

Hello everyone, I am very new to AppSheet and have 2 questions.
I currently have a google sheet as below, and had chose to create an Appsheet for this

1. After creating the AppSheet, when adding new record, for the column Cash, Bank, Paypal, they show the options as yes or no. When I chose either of them, it will return the data in Google Sheet as TRUE or FALSE. I wonder is there a way that it will return the data as checkbox like my current Google sheet?

2. I want to have new record added above the TOTAL row so whenever a new record is added, the TOTAL row will be automatically calculated; instead of being added to the below row with no Formatting.

Thank you very much

0 4 1,285
  • UX
4 REPLIES 4

Hi @Tony241

Appsheet will not save values as checkboxes in your GoogleSheet but I can defintaly think of a few ways with Google App Script and conditional formating to format your Google Sheet database as youโ€™d want it to look.

However, I donโ€™t recommand it. I totaly connect with the feeling of wanting to keep on referring to your Google Sheets for reading/observing your data, as you must have been doing before AppSheet.

But the idea here is that your Google Sheet is just a database, It may look ungly but the less tweaking you do with it, the better it should be for the app and realibility of your data.

Iโ€™d encourage you to look into AppSheetโ€™s different views, tables, and charts to consume your data. You can do wonders with it.

If you still wnt to go ahead, below shared instrucitons can probably help. With custom checkboxes, when appsheet will save โ€œTrueโ€ โ€“ GoogleSheetโ€™s data validation will convert it to a checkbox, however how appsheet reads back the value is still a question that I donโ€™t have an answer for.

Good luck

Add custom checkbox values

You can add checkboxes with custom values. For example, the custom checked value could be โ€œYes,โ€ and the unchecked value could be โ€œNo.โ€