Documentation for complete novices on how to use a template app

I'm considering writing a "Tips and Tricks" for beginners about how to copy and use an AppSheet template app.  For experienced AppSheet users, this may be so rudimentary as to seem too obvious to even require an explanation.  However, to get my students to use an app that I have published as a template, I really need to walk them through the process step by step.

So, here's my question:  Has AppSheet published a clear explanation for beginners about the steps required to copy and begin using a template app on one's smartphone?

Again, it's pretty darn basic but I remember being confused about this when I first began using AppSheet.

If there is no official guide regarding how to do this, I may write one up and publish it on "Tips and Tricks."  Then, I would hope that that URL could be given to folks who are not developers but might be interested in using a specific template on their phones.

Should I do that?

By the way, this inquiry of mine is related to another "Tips" I've written up about how to publish a template / sample app:

https://www.googlecloudcommunity.com/gc/Tips-Tricks/How-to-share-your-app-as-a-template-sample-app-v...

As some others have pointed how, this kind of documentation should really be done officially by AppSheet but, until that time comes, I'm willing to try to fill the void.

Solved Solved
3 10 179
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi!

There is a copy app topic here: Copy apps

I can enhance this to include how to copy a template app, as well. Would that be helpful?

Thank you @Steve and @Kirk_Masden for continuing to provide tips and tricks! 🙂

Liz

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

@Kirk_Masden wrote:

Should I do that?

Yes, please!

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

Attn @lizlynch 

Hi!

There is a copy app topic here: Copy apps

I can enhance this to include how to copy a template app, as well. Would that be helpful?