Filter values that are previously added to the ref field.

Hi all. I'm very new to AppSheet and I need some help.  I found some similar answers, but it's not what I'm looking for.

I have 3 tables (Students, Modules and Enroll) that I use to enroll Students in to Modules. This is the relation between them:

Students -> Enroll <- Modules

The problem I have is when entering data (enrolling the students into modules) it shows all the students and it's easy to make a mistake and enroll the same student in the same module. What I want is to filter the list of students, so if the student is added to that specific module not to show him in the list, or vice-versa.

Basically, when I use the form to enter data and select a specific module from the drop-down,  I want to exclude the students previously enrolled to that module from the student list. And vice versa, when I select a student I want to filter only the modules he is not enrolled.  

Also, if possible, I want to filter the modules list based on the course the student is enrolled. I have a Courses table that is connected to Students and Modules table.

Thank you in advance.

Solved Solved
1 10 303
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thank you.

Please try in valid_if of the [Students] column in the Enroll table an expression of 

Students[ID] -SELECT(Enroll[Students],[Module]=[_THISROW].[Module])

You could possibly have suitable slices on the Enroll table such as Future_Enrolls with an expression something like [Date]>=Today() because I think you will enroll students only for future modules. This will reduce burden on SELECT() expressions.

Note: If you are looking for help with the [_THISROW] concept, please take a look at the following informative tip by @MultiTech 

When to use [_thisrow] - Google Cloud Community

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

The general approach will be to subtract the list of students enrolled for the same module ID from the list of all students, something like