Help needed - Computed keys limitation?

I am new to Appsheet.

On the face of it, Appsheet looks promising - I had been trying to work with PowerApps but the licencing issue were just too much to get on top of. Hence my look into Appsheet.

However I appear to have come to an early (and disappointing) impasse. It appears to me (I hope I am wrong) that Appsheet cannot handle any relationships in Google sheets other than the most basic (Order / Item type). When it comes to composite keys it doesnโ€™t appear to know what to do.

So I am wondering if Appsheet is a tool for anything more than a very basic application. I really donโ€™t want to spend a lot of time going down (another) rabbit hole to discover that it leads nowhere.

I have an application, that can be modelled quite easily using a traditional relational DB, and in Google Sheets with a bit of imagination. I would like some opinions as to whether I am wasting my time on this platform or if I am just missing something fundamental. I am willing to engage Appsheet experts to get me over this hump if necessary.

Thanks,

Roryf

0 17 333
17 REPLIES 17

Hi @Rory_Forde ,

Please take a look at the following AppSheet help articles just in case you have not

https://help.appsheet.com/en/articles/1023086-what-is-a-key

https://help.appsheet.com/en/articles/961426-references-between-tables

No

AppSheet kinda follows the rules for RDB but not 100%. Some things like 1-to-1 need workarounds

Iโ€™m lost here. Can you explain it to us a little bit better?
โ€˜Relationships in Google sheetsโ€™ doesnโ€™t sound like a thing. What do you mean?
Composite keysโ€ฆ you need sequential keys or something?

Gotcha

You can, although I strongly suggest you not to do it.
The best way of having a key for each row is by leaving a real column for that purpose of text type and UNIQUEID() Initial Value. Also leave it hidden (Show: off) because it doesnโ€™t have any meaninfull info rather than a pseudo unique string.