How to display latest record for each account

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to AppSheet and have some background with databases but not much with UIs. I have an app that I am using for budgeting and I would like to be able to track my account balances over time. I have 2 tables: Accounts and Balances. The Accounts table has the name of the account and the account type. The Balances table references the Accounts table to pull the account name and then I enter the current balance and the date. 

I would like to have a view that shows the name and balance for each account, but only shows the most recent balance for each account. For example, if the table has this data

AccountBalanceDate
Acct 1$10.001/1/24
Acct 2$15.001/1/24
Acct 1$12.501/15/24
Acct 2$17.501/15/24
Acct 1$18.252/1/24
Acct 2$2.002/1/24

Then the view would only show:

Acct 1$18.252/1/24
Acct 2$2.002/1/24

Thank you!

0 5 116
  • UX
5 REPLIES 5

The MAXROW() function will likely be your solution here. Where it needs to be applied or implemented is a separate question as it is difficult to say how your data is structured. If for example you have Table1 with two rows Acct1 and Acct2, then you have Table2 with the dates and balances then I would suggest a virtual or real column in Table 1 like [Acct Max Row] with this formula:

MAXROW("Table2", "Date", [_THISROW].[Account] = [Account])

This will fetch the entire row. Then you could do a column for Latest Balance [Acct Max Row].[Balance].

Thank you! I tried creating 2 real columns in Table1: "Account Max Row" and "Current Balance". "Account Max Row" is a reference column and "Current Balance" is a Text column, are these types correct?

I added the formula you suggested to "Account Max Row" column, and then added [Account Max Row].[Balance] to the "Current Balance" column but I am getting this error:

"Column Account Max Row in expression '[Account Max Row].[Balance]' does not contain a reference"