How to keep original row of record and add another row of updated record in same table

ecisze

Hi every community member,

I am new to AppSheet and like to keep audit trail records on my app. I have been keeping the original row but changes status from 1 to 0 when save changes. Then create a new row of updated record with status 1. It has been done using Excel vba. Appreciate your advise on how to handle it in AppSheet or suggest better method.

Thanks.

0 8 1,282
8 REPLIES 8

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

Mixing VBA and AppSheet is very likely to cause considerable problems with your app. I would advise working to avoid using VBA to modify any worksheets used by AppSheet.

To keep an audit trail of changes to rows, consider using a workflow to copy a row to a log table on any row add or update.

Thank you Steve.

What are the possible problems with vba and Appsheet sharing same worksheets?

Thanks.

AppSheet has no awareness of VBA. AppSheet will not be aware of any changes VBA makes until the app syncs. There’s nothing to stop AppSheet from overwriting changes made by VBA. Likewise, VBA could make changes that AppSheet doesn’t see. AppSheet is not designed to share its data store with non-AppSheet writers.

But, to clarify, if your VBA only reads the data and doesn’t modify it, you should be fine.

I can attest to Steve’s points. I have a MySQL database as the back end of my apps and using triggers in database can produce some odd behaviors. It produces very odd results especially if you have server caching enabled in your appsheet app.

There is an Action type “copy the row and edit the copy”. I have not used this before so I don’t know anything about how it works. I have never read any posts about it so it is likely a seldom used feature.