I want to count how many times my app is used on a public app

I have a public app.
I am paying for the Publisher Pro subscription

Since I am paying from my own pocket, as a service to a community, I would like to know how much people are using my app. Hence.....I would like to create a counting mechanism of some kind. This way it makes me be aware of the value I provide to the community, compared to the costs I make.

I really have NO clue on how to build something like that in AppSheet.
How can I increase a stored counter, every time somebody opens the app?

I am fairly new to appSheet, so I am learning as fast as I can.
Any help would be greatly appreciated please.
Thanks in advance.

Solved Solved
0 10 360
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

So it sounds as if you have a view that displays a Map.  You have possibly set that view to be one of the 5 available positions at the bottom of your app...yes?

To be able to do what you want, you cannot allow the user to just click on a tab to display the view.  In fact, you should only ever have 1 view that is shown to the user.  That view would be a Menu screen with buttons that when clicked display the requested view.

The actions that you attach to the buttons would be what are called Grouped Actions.  Grouped action buttons allow a single click to trigger multiple actions.  For the case where you want the user to view your Map screen, the actions (in order!) would be Add row to another table (your tracker table) followed by Go to another view in this App (LINKTOVIEW("Your map view name").

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

Hi Rens,

You can see usage logs in Monitor > Usage statistics 

baba_sawane_0-1699859295711.png

I know.
But that only gives me information on how many unique users there are per day.
It does not show me how often they are using it en which functionality they use most.
I want to know for instance on which functionality I need to focus to improve.

So......yes I would like to create my own counters.