Is there a limit on the numer of charactes used for Tab Names?

I am new to Appsheet (1 .5 weeks and counting).

I am having a problems when defining Enum Data Validity with a Table Column
(See Below)

ej1: TG.099.ReferenceTables[Job_Rates]
ej2:TG.999.TestTable[Job_Rates]

When I use ej1 - the field does not show up on the forms view.

When I use ej2 - the field works fine in the forms view.

Questions:

1. Is there an Appsheet limitation on the number of characters that can be used to name a Sheet/Tab (from Google Sheets?)
  2. Is there a restricted name/variable that I may have tripped upon?

Notes:
1-ej1 and ej2 refer to different Data Tables (Sheets) in the same file.
2-I verified the setting of each column is the same in both Data Tables.

0 6 121
  • UX
6 REPLIES 6

Appsheet permits certain โ€œnon-standardโ€ naming schemas, in the name of ease-of-use. However, I highly recommend sticking to simple naming schemas for Table and Columns. Use only letters, use underscores for spaces, no other special characters, and keep them short. Your life will be easier that way.

M_D:

Thank you for the recommendation (will try to KISS itโ€ฆ).

Question:

1. Is there any known issues of using โ€œ.โ€ instead of โ€œ_โ€ for spaces in names.

Notes:

1. I am new to Appsheets (1.5 weeks today). Old (dinosaur) engineer that uses calculators and spreadsheets.
  2. I used โ€œ.โ€ to keep the display name shorter on the screen.
  3. I also added the number .xxx. to the names to keep the auto-created UX view together in an organized way. There are a lot of UX autogenerated organized alphabetically and I find it confusing. The plan was to change the view name once the app was working. (Please let me know if there is any pitfalls in the logic).

Hello @Felix.P_Tong.

Thereโ€™s no mention of a limitation of that kind in the docs, and i have never heard of issues regarding that, did you check your column types? does your spreadsheet actually have data to display in those two tables?