Link to gallery of this row

Hello.
One row holds many images. From a deck view I need an action to take me to a gallery for that row. I’ve created a Gallery View and an action with LINKTOFORM(“Gallery”,“JobID”,[JobID]), it doesn’t do what I want it to do. The deck view works fine and shows the first image, when the use selects that record or row he should be returned a view of the gallery for that record/row. What am I doing wrong and how should I fix it. I am very new to Appsheet so descriptive help would be great. Thanks all.

0 6 476
  • UX
6 REPLIES 6

Unfortunately a Gallery view won’t work this way. Inline views, which include deck, gallery, table, etc. are for displaying multiple records of data.

The only way to show images from the same row all at once is in the Details view.

You could try:

LINKTOROW([JobID], “Jobs_Detail_View”)

It might be a good idea to create a custom view for this, if there’s other elements on the Jobs table that you don’t want seen in this special view this will allow you to customize this view.

Such a pity, I was hoping to use this as a desktop app and show the full gallery to the user on selection of a [JobID] from a deck view.

Thanks

Perhaps a change in data structure; I’ve talked to many clients that have tables built like you have - horizontally.

Horizontal tables, where you’ve got columns for each element, are good for spreadsheets, but if you’ve got to have functionality where the users need the ability to add several of something (my threshold is 3) then I switch to creating a related table to hold this data.

A few benefits off the top of my head:

1. you don’t have to deal with X number of columns (the show if, the formulas, display names, etc.) for each element being recorded
  2. users have infinite expand-ability (instead of us (the developers) restricting the number of elements that can be saved (by setting the number of columns), this approach gives the users the ability to upload any number they want)