My first app update

Hello,
I'm new to development.
My account is Starter.
I have App "A" working which I use to continue the development of implementations and fixes.
I generated a copy of the App called "B" that I shared for the client to work on.
Yesterday I made some modifications in App "A" and I tried to update these modifications in App "B".
The update took place, but along with it came the data from the App "A" database, this cannot happen because the customer database in App "B" already has information.
How can I update without messing with the client's database?
The only changes I made to the database were some display names, could that be why the database data was changed as well?

Solved Solved
0 3 177
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

It sounds like you're using the Upgrade an app - AppSheet Help feature. If so, bear in mind that doing so overwrites the target app's entire configuration with the source app's entire configuration, including, for example, each app table's source path, which specifies its connection to its data source. Also, the upgrade function doesn't process at all any files or other data beyond the app configuration itself--e.g., data source structure, data source content, templates, Apps Script projects, app logos and background images. Essentially, your upgraded app may be pointing to the non-production data source and the remedy is to:

• Replicate in the production data source's structure any changes expected by the upgraded app.
  • Re-point the production app's tables to the production data source.

I don't recall seeing a thorough guide to accounting for all of an app's typical external references, but there are various posts in the community addressing the issue. Here's one example.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3