Remote Timing

John1

I wish to build an App to record the Location [ longitude / Latitude ], Car number and the time [ HH:MM:SS ], to remotely time a Classic Car rally I have a spreadsheet, but I am a novice to the system

Solved Solved
0 16 522
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

EIG

Yes, you can build that app with AppSheet.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

EIG

Hi John,
Welcome. Will the users be able to use their app during the rally? If so, they can create a new entry (row in the spreadsheet) every time they need to record their location. Then you can set the location and time to be the initial value and they just select their car number from a drop down.

I would really suggest that you watch a few of the AppSheet YouTube videos. They are very helpful. They have their own channel.

EIG Thank you. The idea is for the Course Opening Car to mark timing points with a code letter at the roadside, then send in the data to the spreadsheet - Car # 0, the code letter, the Lat / Long and Time [ HH:MM:SS - preferabley atomic Satellite time, not device time ]. Then up to 12 cars will follow the same route at minute intervals, each with the same App. They will send in their Car #, the code letter, the lat / long and the time that they press โ€™ enter โ€™ at the required locations. The data will be validated against the Master Record of the Course Car and collated in the spreadsheet to create the Results of penalties for being late or early. At the moment, we need about six pairs of people to do the timing and the Results have to be entered manually, causing delay and the risk of errors.
The Lat / Long needs to be captured automatically from the 'phone [ with GPS ]. The time should be exactly when the Enter is pressed. The car # will be in the range of 1 - 12 from a drop down box, preferably adjusted manually at the beginnig of the event and being held for the duration of the ralyโ€ฆ I hope that it makes sense. John B

EIG

Yes, you can build that app with AppSheet.