Remove "Add" button when child record exists

I've seen lots of posts about this general issue, but none that apply directly to my need.  I'm new to Appsheet and need a bit of hand holding in this mid-level stuff. 

I have a parent table with a child table.  There will never be more than one child record for each parent record.  Once someone adds a child record associated with a parent record, I want to remove the "Add" button so they won't attempt to add another record.  

Parent table = "Jobs" with a rec ID of "Job Number"       

Child table="Chainsaw Detail" with rec ID of "Trees Job ID" that matches the Job Number in the parent table. 

What formula/function do I use to test to see if the record exists and where do I place that formula to make it all work. 

Thanks for any help you can lend!

Wick    

Solved Solved
0 6 365
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hey man,

no biggie.
The Action has to happen in the Parent Table. So best is to completely hide The "Add" Action in the Trees Table by selecting "Do not Display" under Prominence
Last, create a new Action in the Parent Table Jobs called "Add Tree" or "Add Child" as follows:

AddChild.png

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Hey man, 

it's simple. Just use this statement in the Add action behavior pane:
Only if this condition is true = ISBLANK([Related ChildRecords]) 
or 
COUNT([Related ChildRecords]) < 1

This looks like a brilliant solution!  It took me a while to see where you were referring to the action behavior pane - I had not used that before.  As a new developer, I am having trouble understanding exactly how I am to code the [Related ChildRecords] reference.  

Example: I'm assuming you mean to add a behavior test to the "Add" function for the child "Trees" table.  It's a child to the "Jobs" table.

wcksmith_0-1704369145167.png