Set automatically the focus on a search field

Dear all,

I'm quite new in AppSheet and I don't know if what I want to do is possible or not...

I'm developping an Inventory app. When the logisticians are choosing a location in the warehouse, it displays this screen :

Selection of a locationSelection of a location

The goal for them - in order to save time because they have thousands of articles to count - is to get directly the screen below - without the need to manually select the search area - and having directly the keyboard enabled :

Screenshot_20231012_101535_AppSheet.jpg

It will definitely ease the process and enable us to be more effcient during the inventory check.

Thanks for your help.

Kim

Solved Solved
0 10 351
  • UX
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Oh okay.  I know it sounds a little extended but in that case you could consider options such as combining two or three  letters as shown below. It is similar as in a landline phone instrument's each digit accompanied by 3--4 letters.

Suvrutt_Gurjar_1-1697206361391.png

The image is from Wikipedia at page Telephone keypad - Wikipedia

Based on your use case description, it sounds that it may still be a better option than locating the search window, opening the mobile keyboard and moving around the entire keyboard  to punch in the desired combination. 

Of course, you are the best judge of what is ultimately best for your users.

Suvrutt_Gurjar_0-1697206113735.png

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

@kvocat wrote:

The goal for them - in order to save time because they have thousands of articles to count - is to get directly the screen below - without the need to manually select the search area

Is your goal to simply show a reduced list of locations so there is no scrolling and no need to search?

If so, then YES you can do this using the Valid_If property in the column definition and inserting an expression that selects only the desired/valid locations.