Stacked Multiple Prepopulated Data Input Forms?

Hi, I'm new to Appsheet and loving it. As I am figuring things out, I do have a puzzle I need help on.

Assuming the following:

* Table 1 contains categories and metadata

* Table 2 contains item details  (size, notes) and includes reference to category id field to table 1 

* 1 data entry form that inputs data to table 2

I have a need to create a button action that will fire off 3 instances of the same simple data entry form (to table 2), with 3 specific values in the category filed prepopulated from table 1.

Desired workflow:

User hits a button to create new inventory group (requiring 3 records inputted to table 2) >

1. Input form comes up with empty "size" and "notes" fields from table 2 and non-editable category field populated with category 1 from table 1. 

2. On save, writes data to table 2, and input form comes up again with empty "size" and "notes" field from table 2 and non-editable category field populated with category 2 from table 1. 

3. On save, input form comes up again with empty "size" and "notes" fields from table 2 and non-editable category field populated with category 3 from table 1. 

4. On save, user would be directed to a table view to see all data from table 2

Hope that makes sense. Is this possible?  If so, I could use a walk-through. Thanks in advance.

Solved Solved
0 12 785
  • UX
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

With all of your generous help and feedback, I was able to figure it out.  Turns out, I was overthinking and overcomplicating the design. Since there were only 6 pillar "categories', I decided it was easier to add the multiple fields to the same table vs create parent/child table relationships.

For the multi-page input form part, I simply used show type columns, like demonstrated here, and Things are zooming!! Thank you ALL so much! I have learned so much and never though I would be able to create my first robust mobile app in a new-to-me system in just over 72 hours. #Amazing

Best