Start Expressions and Grouping

This should be simple but I'm relatively new to Appsheet. I have more experience with SQL, BigQuery, and Google Apps Script.

I have a single table, NDARequests, with the following fields:
-RequestID
-RequestDate
-LastModified
-RequestName
-Status
-AssignedTo

I'm creating an email and want it grouped by Status. The status's are prefaced with a 3 digit number and then the status phrase:
"110 - New Request"
"120 - Counsel Review"
"130 - Client Review"
"150 - Internal Review"
... and so on

Have a Google Docs template:

I am, and will, do more with the ordering but the below is working.

<<Start: ORDERBY(SELECT(NDARequests[RequestID], Number(Mid([Status],1,3))<200, TRUE),[Status])>>
:: any additional fields in a table row
<<end>>

What I'm looking to do is more like this:

OPEN NDA REQUESTS

<<STATUS>>
- Rows of data for the above status

<<STATUS>>

<<STATUS>>

How do I structure a nested start expression to achieve that? 

It is simple with a joined/referenced table. 

Thanks.

Solved Solved
0 10 180
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

This is what I used to get it working... basically, taking clues here and with a few other posts I found.

<<Start:ORDERBY(FILTER("NDARequests",[RequestID]=MAXROW("NDARequests","_RowNumber",AND([STATUS]=[_THISROW-1].[STATUS],Number(Mid([Status],1,3))<200 ))),[Status])>>

<<[Status]>>
<<Start:FILTER( "NDARequests", [STATUS]=[_THISROW-1].[STATUS])>>
<<[RequestName]>>
<<[DateReceived]>>
<<[Assignee]>>
<<[BusinessLead]>>
<<End>>
<<End>>

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

I have the same logic somehow , instead of status it is truck ref . 

i display it as you have explained. 

Truck Reference: 

shipment number 

Pcs 

weight 

shipment number 

Pcs 

weight 

Truck Reference: 

Shipment number 

pcs 

weight 

if this is what you want you can do so : 

in your table NDARequests create a Virtual Column of type List name it group : 

use the following expression: