Tracking Patient Encounters

Hello, I’m new to the AppSheet community, and I’m trying to determine whether AppSheet is the right solution for interaction with my data. I am trying to store records of physicians’ encounters with patients, and our data is unfortunately dictated by existing codes and processes used in the healthcare industry.

To describe the model, each time a physician sees a patient, he logs the patient’s identifier on a note card and writes down at least one or several procedures he performed during the encounter on that date. Each procedure is described by a static set of CPT codes published by the American Medical Association (also known as HCPCS codes published by CMS). Each encounter has only one physician and one patient, but may have multiple CPT codes. Each CPT code belonging to an encounter is unique for the set of CPT codes associated with that encounter and may be associated with zero, one, or many modifier codes.

For example, Physician A may see Patient X on Jan 1, 2022 and on Jan 2, 2022 and perform several different procedures (coded by CPT codes) on each day. It’s a complex system that unfortunately reflects the complexities of medical coding and claim submission and requires at least two many-to-many relationships.

A proposed database diagram is here:

Ideally, the UX would allow a physician to sign into the app, add a new encounter, select an existing patient or add a new patient ID for the encounter, add one or more CPT codes from a drop-down for that encounter, and add one or more modifiers from a drop-down for each CPT code.

I understand that AppSheet does not natively support many-to-many relationships but that users have found ways around this using virtual columns. I’m just not certain that AppSheet is the best way to record this data without native many-to-many support.

I’d appreciate any suggestions on whether this is a project worth building in AppSheet. Thanks!

0 3 107
3 REPLIES 3