Trigger an action from two different table simultaneously

Hi All,

I just need some help, please. 

I have 2 tables in my app,  Table 1 and Table 2.

Each table has an action - Action 1 (in Table 1) and Action 2 (in Table 2).

If I trigger Action 1, is there a way to also trigger Action 2 simultaneously?

For example, if I run Action 1 in Table 1, it will trigger Action 2 to change the value of a row in Table 2.

Noob here, so please be a little more elaborate on your answers ๐Ÿ™‚ 

Solved Solved
0 4 496
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Aurelien
Google Developer Expert
Google Developer Expert

Hi @Aaron_B 

Yes it's possible.

What you need to do is:

-create your Action1  from Table 1

- create your Action2 from Table 2

- create an Action3:  with these settings:

==> For a record of this table : Table1

==> Do this : "Data: execute an action on a set of rows"

==> Referenced Table : Table 2

==> referenced Rows: a FILTER() expression, I suggest you have a look on the help documentation for this part

FILTER("Table2", yourCondition)

==> Referenced action: Action2

- create an action "Grouped : execute a sequence of actions" from Table1 with these:

==>Action1

==>Action3

Let us know  if you have some trouble into implementing this.

For reference:

https://help.appsheet.com/en/articles/2357308-filter

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

We need explanation by what parameters action 2 would know which row to change in Table 2

Aurelien
Google Developer Expert
Google Developer Expert

Hi @Aaron_B 

Yes it's possible.

What you need to do is:

-create your Action1  from Table 1

- create your Action2 from Table 2

- create an Action3:  with these settings:

==> For a record of this table : Table1

==> Do this : "Data: execute an action on a set of rows"

==> Referenced Table : Table 2

==> referenced Rows: a FILTER() expression, I suggest you have a look on the help documentation for this part

FILTER("Table2", yourCondition)

==> Referenced action: Action2