Use custom detail view instead of system detail

jsabin

I am very new at this. I have a single product list table that is searchable by the search glass at the top of the screen. Once I select the search result it goes to the system detail view by default, but I don’t like that look. I know how to create views but I can’t seem to associate the new view details with clicking on the search result.

Do I need to create a view based on a slice? If so, how do I create the slice data to be associated with search result? I have spent days trying to figure out something that should be very simple.
Thx,

0 9 4,141
  • UX
9 REPLIES 9

Hi @jsabin! Welcome to the AppSheet Community!

A Detail view you create will take precedence over the system generated view. You simply need to create the view using the same datasource you are using in the view that you are searching on.

For example, you have a table named XYZ and have created a Table view to show the rows. You will want to create a Detail View of your own using the datasource of table XYZ. When you perform a search in the Table view and click on a resulting row, it should use your customer Detail view to show the details.

A Pro Tip: You can access and change the system generated views. To see them, scroll all the way to the bottom of the UX pane. You will see the link “Show system views”. This will display those views and then you can find the Detail View you are interested in and make the necessary changes to get the view the way you want it.

2X_7_75ae5cac914958b0a2334acc78ba0a931d4684e2.png

2X_6_61f378fe0b162092a7b053463d06f27631105a63.png

Thank you so much for your input John. I created a reference Gallery view using the same data source as my table “Product Details” called “Product Details_Detail 2”. The system details is “Product Details_Detail” When I search for an item in the “Product Detail” view it still defaults to the system view instead of my new view.