User Roles and User Permissions for Access Table Data

Hi,

I am new to App Sheets and creating a business lead entering and viewing app. Can anyone please guide me how to full-fill below requirement.

User role and restrictions requirement
Assign different user roles (admin, manager, supervisor, user) and assign different permissions.
Admin: Access all features, Views and menu items, Create all types of users
Manager: Create supervisor and user accounts, Add own leads, View and edit all leads
Supervisor: Create only user accounts, Add own leads, View and edit own and supervisor assigned user leads
User: View, Add and Edit only own leads

Note: I have created two tables in google sheets for user details and lead details

Thank you,
Sam

Solved Solved
0 12 9,332
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Sameera_De_Silva
You need to create your own USERS table with ROLES and ACCESS PRIVILEGES. As per this table, you can use LOOKUP() expression to locate any user’s role and access privilege to any table and set your table’s access mode and (if needed) security filter expressions to filter away data.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

Out of the box, AppSheep currently only supports Admin and User as roles for any whitelisted users. I have heard some buzz that they may have capability for more in the future.

Since you need more than the two roles, you will need to build and manage your own but it’s not hard IF you are using AppSheet’s user login feature.

In your Users table, add a column for Roles and a column for Email. When adding Users make sure that the Email column is populated with the email the user authenticates with to access the app.

Then it’s just a matter of grabbing the user’s Role and using that value for security checks throughout the app. To get this value the expression might be:

ANY(SELECT(Users[Role], USEREMAIL() = [Email]))