Using multiple Inline Views / Reference Views for the same table

Hi everyone,

I’m new to AppSheet and I’m building a custom inspection app.
I have already set up the data and created all the references between tables and the app as suggested by AppSheet works beautifully. I am amazed by what AppSheet can do out of the box.

At the moment I’m struggling with a UX problem with “Related” tables. I set up a couple of tables that reference one another, e.g. the Table “Team Role” references both an “Inspection” (e.g. inspection “04/08/21 Building 1”) and a Person (e.g. “jane@example.com”).

In the same way the table “Tasks” references “People” and “Inspections” and gets displayed both in the Views for “People” and “Inspections” as an inline table called “Related Tasks”. This automated inline view is exactly what I need.

My problem is that AppSheet generates an automatic Inline View using all columns of “Tasks” which is pretty long and tedious to scroll through. This “Task_Inline” View is a Reference View (Reference Views | AppSheet Help Center) that I can edit.

I would like to use a different inline view for Tasks in the views for Inspections and People. E.g. in the view “People” I would like the task inline view to be a table with the columns “Summary”, “Inspection” and “Status” and in the “Inspections” view I would like it to be a table with the columns “Summary”, “Assignee” and “Status”.

When the user is accessing the “Inspection” view the reference to the “Inspection” itself is listed as the first column of the Tasks table, which is unnecessary in this context and the user needs to scroll a lot to find the columns that are actually relevant.

Is there a way to use multiple reference views for the same table?

Best
Melanie

Solved Solved
2 4 1,649
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Please try below.