Using the Barcode Scanner as a search

Hi community!

I'm new to Appsheet and I'm wondering if anyone can help me with this question?  I'm using Appsheet with SmartSheet and on the whole it is going really well.  I've hit a stumbling block with the scanner functionality.

Is it possible to scan a bar code in Appsheet and for the App to automatically take you to the full record that contains that same barcode information?  

In our scenario we are using SmartSheet to list "jobs" and Appsheet enables you by using the scanner to locate the "job" information by scanning the job sheet in the workshop.

Is there an example of this online or a demo I can follow?

Really appreciate any help here

1 4 1,750
4 REPLIES 4

HBT
Silver 4
Silver 4

1- @Lynn   There is an application that he shared.
2- With a Bluetooth barcode scanner on the mobile device, with a handheld barcode scanner on the computer,
3- And you can still read barcodes with the camera on the mobile device.

App link from @lnyy 

HBT_0-1644841656641.png

Just as added information to HBT's post.

You should read this help document.

From your Q&A entry, I kinda assumed that you are trying to scan a QR code that points to the location of the information related to the jobs to navigate to it and not really store that information within the app to further process it.

If that is the case, why do you even need AppSheet? Plenty of barcode scanner apps already out there. - Just curious.

Anyway if you want a clickable icon in the app, Scan enabled column is set to Text as in the help document . And to make your app clickable to the scanned URL, then you need another column that is set to URL and has as its initial value to the scannable column.

Thanks @HBT and @TeeSee1 really appreciate your help.

@TeeSee1 currently 100% of the companies management system is built in SmartSheet so using Appsheet to create an app seemed a logical way to go.