Will migrating from Google Spreadsheet to other DataBases speed up the App?

We have been using AppSheet linked to Google Spreadsheet as a database. There are significant volumes of data currently stored on the spreadsheet, going well into 15,000 rows in one of the tables. AppSheet is really slowing down for us, and this is after removing nearly all reference virtual columns to speed up (which showed a noticeable improvement).

Has anyone here used another "DataBase" other than Google Spreadsheet? Apologies if i'm not using the correct terminology as i'm self-taught. Will AppSheet speed up if we migrate our data to, say, a Cloud Server like SQLServer or Postgre? (I have never used those before, i'm exploring options)

I know that AppSheet DataBase is about to launch soon, but there have been no updates on speed. We can't test the preview version properly for speed comparisons either because we have >10,000 rows. 

Thank you for any advise or suggestions!

0 3 168
3 REPLIES 3

Hello there, reference columns are not the illness that plagues your app, but the cure, they are the most effective method available for making any kind of calculations, what poisons your app are (probably) virtual columns with expensive expressions (selects, lookups, etc).

And if that the case, I don't think switching the database would help, as the virtual columns I have mentioned are calculated by AppSheet server anyways.

You can have 10k rows if you want, but with how many columns? and in that table, are there any virtual columns? or in other tables, are there any virtual columns that run dynamic calculations based on the large table?

Thanks for the reply. It was a typo on my part. I meant to say we have removed nearly all virtual columns, especially those with SELECT and LOOKUP functions.