Workflow rule doesn't work with slices or filtered data?

As the topic title suggests, my workflow rules seem to only work on tables without filtered data. I have a master table without filters applied and several slices. Some tables or slices are made up of filtered data based on certain conditions. I’m interested in triggering a workflow based on criteria on this filtered view,

Anyone know if there is a restriction for workflow rules on slices or filtered data? I haven’t found anything that suggests the opposite in the documentation…unless I missed something

0 11 904
11 REPLIES 11

Hi @Joe_Ojay!

When you think of Slices and filtered data, they are simply altered VIEWS of the base table rows. They are still table rows.

Workflows operates on only a single row at a time that have had some activity on them - add, update or delete. It doesn’t matter if that row comes from a Slice or a Filtered view or the base table.

To answer your question, there are NO restrictions on Slices or Filtered views when it comes to Workflow processing because they are table rows. You simply create the Workflow using the same base table as the Slice or Filtered view is based on.

thank you @WillowMobileSystems !

I forgot to mention that my filtered view is a google sheet formula, and I have summary formulas that reference the filtered view, as illustrated in the attached image.

I use this sheet to display a summary metric to be used in a “Detail” UX view in Appsheet.

Given this additional information, any reason why workflows are not getting triggered on this type of data source view but they do on others?

You sheet formulas do not impact the AppSheet Workflow. AppSheet simply loads sheet results into your AppSheet tables.

Workflows trigger based on changes made to those rows inside of AppSheet.

What is the trigger criteria of your Workflow?

What changes are you making in the AppSheet app that you are expecting will trigger the Workflow?

@WillowMobileSystems