how do I transfer one column of data from a table to another keeping the "routelist" number ID ?

@Steve @SkrOYC  @Suvrutt_Gurjar  @dbaum @Marc_Dillon 

who ever solves this gets $20 venmo. 

SCREEN SHOTS PROVIDED

I have one simple task that I have been trying to solve for the past week and im reaching out for help.

I am new to app develpment so please bare with me 🙂

Q: I need to transfer (or reference) the column named "Last_Transaction_Date_" in the "Contacts" table to the "Accounts" table, the "The Route Numbers" must match so they are the correct dates.

I have a feeling it must a be ref_rows function but im not sure exactly what to do ! please be kind to offer a solution if you think you can help. Thank you !!!

screenshot 8.pngscreen shot 7.png

Solved Solved
1 17 396
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

In the Accounts table:

• Ensure there is a column of Ref type that is based on the Contacts table. (Maybe that is already the Accounts table's Route_Number column.)
  • Ensure that column contains values that match the values from the column designated as the key column in the Contacts table. (Similarly, maybe that is already the Contacts table's Route_Number column but potentially is something else, such as Contact_ID.)
  • In a virtual column, as was suggested by others, enter an expression like the following in the App formula property. As necessary, substitute "Route_Number" with the name (not the display name) of the column from the Accounts table that is the Ref type column linked to the Contacts table and substitute "Last_Transaction_Date" with the name (not the display name) of the desired column from the Contacts table. 
[Route_Number].[Last_Transaction_Date]

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17

If "Route_Number" is a ref in the virtual column formula you can set [Route_Number].[Last_Transaction_Date]

If it is not ref you can use Lookup([Route_Number],"Nameofthetablewhereistheresult","Route_Number","Last_Transaction_Date")