sum of a remaining balance

Hi, I apologize for my bad English.

I've never programmed an app before.

I tried on my own for a very long period without any luck. Any assistance would be much valued!

I want to created tables for an app to know the remain balance for a daily paiment for a work as shown in the tabel below

Capture d'รฉcran 2024-03-24 231805.png

and I use the following second table, which lists the costs of each service, as a reference:

Capture d'รฉcran 2024-03-24 231951.png

My challenge is figuring out how to show the total of a customer's daily payments so that the customer's remaining balance may be seen.

Many thanks for any assistance.

Kind regards

Solved Solved
1 6 160
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

You can use the following steps:

1. Create a column [Cost] in TABLE A that gets the cost for the service
    • Lookup([Service],"Table B","Service","Price")
  2. Use a column [Total Costs] with a SUM and SELECT function to total all costs for a client:
    • SUM(SELECT(Table A[Cost],[Num]=[_thisRow].[Num]))
  3. Use a column [Total Payments] with a SUM and SELECT function to total all payments for a client:
    • SUM(SELECT(Table A[Daily Payment],[Num]=[_thisRow].[Num]))
  4. Subtract the two columns to get the clients balance
    • [Total Costs]-[Total Payments]

You can combine steps as needed. Or you can do this all in Google Sheets with SUMIF functions. You can also use reference columns rather than lookup depending on how your tables are linked. 

View solution in original post

If I understand you correctly, you can add an additional condition to the Select functions that filter down to a single type of service:

• SUM(SELECT(Table A[Cost],AND([Num]=[_thisRow].[Num],[Service]=[_thisRow].[Service])))
  • SUM(SELECT(Table A[Daily Payment],AND([Num]=[_thisRow].[Num],[Service]=[_thisRow].[Service])))

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Can you try to explain again, I am not sure I understand exactly. Thanks!