Parallelism performance issues

I'm having performance issues in a Instance that if it was in a on-prem SQL Server or any Azure SQL Server solution, that with my SQL knowledge I have some configurations that I'd change in the SQL Server engineering that solves performance problems...

But, in GC is not possible to use 'sp_configure', and the only option available to change configs in parallelism level is:
ALTER DATABASE SCOPED CONFIGURATION
SET MAXDOP = 1;
So I did that to solve the problem in a fast way, but as a Database Engineer, I know that this isn't the best option to solve this kind of problem, actually it can causes more problems than solutions...

So my question is, there is any alternative to not being able to change the 'cost threshold for parallelism' in Cloud SQL? Or really the only option is to set a MAXDOP to 1, to disable the Parallelism or just use OPTION MAXDOP in the query level?

1 1 55
1 REPLY 1

Cloud SQL for SQL Server does not currently allow direct modification of the "cost threshold for parallelism" setting via sp_configure. This limitation stems from the managed nature of Cloud SQL, designed to streamline server management while ensuring stability and compatibility across configurations.

While using ALTER DATABASE SCOPED CONFIGURATION SET MAXDOP = 1 is a quick workaround to limit parallelism, it's not ideal for comprehensive performance tuning as it can negatively impact queries that would benefit from parallel execution.

Alternatives and Recommendations:

Query Optimization:

• Review and Tune Queries: Utilize Cloud SQL Insights to analyze resource-intensive queries. Identify opportunities to improve query design, add or optimize indexes, update statistics, or rewrite inefficient parts for better performance.
  • Index Optimization: Ensure your database has appropriate indexes to minimize unnecessary full table scans and enhance query response times.