A rookie question and mistake from me?

SimeA

Hi. I’m completely new to AppSheet (and I like what I see so far!) so please be gentle
I have a question that will probably be very easy to be answered:
Looking at the Wind Turbine sample, I wanted to make ALL_CHANGES of Turbines records be available to all users, not only the ones in the Admin table. For some reason it didn’t work for updates by Inspectors, which I expected to be included in all changes clausula. It just added the trashbin to delete Turbines, and that worked.
No luck with replacing “ALL_CHANGES” with UPDATES_ONLY, or “TRUE” or “YES” either. It just messed it up for the Admin users too. I assume regarding CRUD rights, TRUE and YES are not in the options. the expression for various users worked as expected too.

What am I missing and how to remove any condition for Editing? Snapshots attached. Admin: abraham, Inspector: peter. Admittedly, I put an equal sign between Inspector and User in here. I created an user of the sample up to test that.

Thanks in advance,
Sime

Edit: I realized as a new user I can upload only 1 picture to the forum (why?) - hope I presented the scenario well.

Solved Solved
0 9 161
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Oh I see.

Check the Behavior condition for the Edit Action

Make sure you’re looking at the Edit Action for the right Table, too.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Click this button to get rid of the expression functionality, and get the simple buttons back:
3X_e_8_e832174e049b2806df8261ba3b54a2594f4a2a47.png

Then just select all 3 buttons:

Marc, thanks for the quick reply! Seems logical. I did that and still no luck. Did it work for you?
I don’t think any slices or security settings are involved.

What do you mean it didn’t work? Looks like it worked in your screenshot. Is there some issue?

When peter, I see the glasses to do inspection for that turbine but not the Edit (with pen) icon for doing updates.