Action: Data: Execute Action on set of rows

I’ll jump right to it.

I’m a novice in excel and appsheet and it all seems like a bit much so maybe I can find some help here.

Currently I’m working on a project that needs to be able to track assets.
I’ve created some actions that will look at one table (table A), grab the data, and place it in the proper column of a separate table (table B).

My problem is in the action that gathers all the values in the selected column, then Concatenates the results.

The formula I’m currently using is TableA[Column]
This is certainly incorrect but I think its a start.

So my question is, how can I filter the results so that I only get the value assigned to my asset number?

Solved Solved
0 7 1,280
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ok, now that I see your data design, I don’t want to interfere with it to much.

Going back to your original post, your intent was to get the [Contract Number] from a table named Dispatch Order and place it into a column named [Contract Assigned] which I am seeing is in the Equipment List table.

Since you want to return a single value, the best expression to use in this case is a LOOKUP() function. There needs to be a way to “connect” the two tables with a common value. Because your Dispatch Order table also has the Asset Number on it then the expression you need is this:

LOOKUP([Asset Number], "Dispatch Order", "Asset Number", "ContractNo")

[Asset Number] refers to the column in the Equipment List row.

I am reading that you are using a Workflow rule and of course Actions to update the [Contract Assigned] column. You would simply place this expression in the specific Acton that updates that column.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Welcome to the AppSheet Community!

Could you give a little contextual background as to what you are copying and why?