ACTION Fill a specific cell in another table

THTH1
Participant III

Hi everybody,

I am new to AppSheet and I am still learning. I am moving forward with my App but I am sometimes stuck for hours on the same issue. Even by looking for solutions around the web …

Here is an issue I’ve been dealing with:

I need 1 cell (from a reference table) to get the row number of the form the user is filling.
To do that, I created an action “When user complete this cell in the form, then send the row number to the cell in the reference table”.

But everything I tried didn’t work. Both on the action trigger side (when user complete this cell in the form) and the action itself (send the row number to the cell in the reference table).

It would be awesome to have some help from you, dear community.

Best regards,
Arnaud

Solved Solved
0 8 830
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Sounds like you would find references and dereferences useful:

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Steve
Participant V

Can you perhaps explain why you want to capture the row number of the form just submitted?

THTH1
Participant III

I want to capture it, because I need to display results of formula (in this same form), based on a reference table that needs the row number of the selected form.

Example: I am completing the form, I am at question 3 and I am asked to select the apartment in a dropdown list (from another table with more info in there). I select the “Apartment B” (row n°4), the next question depends on the result from the reference table. The reference table will change completely depending on the row number of the apartment selected.

Sounds like you would find references and dereferences useful:

THTH1
Participant III

Hi Steve,

Thank you very much for your answer. I’ve dived in many of the Help available but am still stuck. I lack technical knowledge, but I am sure, it will come by spending more and more hours reading and checking articles on Appsheet.