After App Upgrade, the Google Sheet source used by the application is changed

Hello Community,

I am new to Appsheet. I would like to ask help on what is the best practice when deploying an update in my application using App upgrade.

I have a copy of my customer feedback application where I do my updates and other modifications. I call it Dev. Dev is copied from Live version which is used by the users.

When I am ready to push my changes from Dev to Live. I go to Manage > Versions > App upgrade. I just input the name of the app where to get the upgrade from then press Upgrade App.

The problem I encounter is after the upgrade my Live environment is now using the google sheet source of the dev.

To illustrate

Before App Upgrade

1. Dev > Dev google sheet source
  2. Live > Live google sheet source

After App Upgrade

1. Dev > Dev google sheet source
  2. Live > Dev google sheet source

I am able to verify this by going to Data > Tables > select a table > click storage > check source ID.

Is it possible to prevent the change in the google sheet source?

Also if I have changes on the google sheet structure itself example (new columns)
how should I go with the app upgrade.

My subscription is just a PRO/CORE version so I cannot use the stable version feature.

Thank you very much in advance for the help and sorry for the long description.

Solved Solved
1 8 468
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Yep.

Hereโ€™s the process I use:

1. Save any outstanding changes to the development version.

2. Note the version of the current development version.

3. Update the development version to use the production tables.

4. Make any other tweaks to the development version needed to make it production ready.

5. Deploy the development version.

6. Upgrade the production version from the development version.

7. Restore the development to the version noted in (2).