Barcode scanner and Importrange

Hi,

I have a master spreadsheet where all the products and related barcodes are stored. This is my distributor’s app. Next, I have customer apps where each customer has its own data, but the products, barcodes, and prices are the same as the distribution app. If I use importrange to sync the data, I can not set the barcode column as key and if the barcode column is not set as key then the scanner function doesn’t work. I have to have separate data sheet for customers because there are additional columns there such as their own selling price which each customer would have a different price.
What would be a work around for this. As I have to copy and paste to each customer’s data every time we add new product or change prices or images on the distributor’s spreadsheet

Solved Solved
0 3 408
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ok figured it out.

Data > Columns > Products > Edit Barcode > Spreadsheet Formula. Here you delete everything and leave it blank. Save and all is working, even the importrange formula in the spreadsheet

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

Why?

In what way doesn’t it work?

Sounds to me like your data should be restructured. Ideally, customer data and product data shouldn’t be mixed together.

I get the following error:
The key column ‘Barcode’ of table ‘Products’ is not a legal key because it contains a Formula. We chose a new key for ‘Products’.MORE INFO
Table Products must have a key column. We assigned ‘_RowNumber’ as the default key, but you should choose a better one.MORE INFO

Error:
Column Name ‘Barcode’ in Schema ‘Products_Schema’ cannot be scanned (not Barcode scannable) because it contains a formula or AppFormula.

The formula is importrange(“url_of_spreadsheet”,“Products!A2:G”)