Best data structure for 2 linked apps

Hello, newbie here

I am working on 2 apps for my restaurant, but i am not sure how to efficiently structure the data. I have :

• Inventory : listing hundreds of ingredients (price, quantity etcโ€ฆ)
  • Recipe book : listing dozens of recipes, each containing dozens of ingredients from the Inventory

For the Inventory, i think the data can come from a single large Google worksheet.
For the Recipe book, I am not sure. Should i go with : one worksheet to index all the recipes listing, then one worksheet per detailed recipe ?

How to handle that many worksheet ? I wonder about the loading speedโ€ฆ because each recipe will have a lot of data : multiple ingredients, weight, inventory units, converted unit, yields, adjusted prices, 3 different profit & margin calculation methods, etcโ€ฆ

Is there a more efficient data structure ? such as MySQL database (with which i am not familiar with) ?

Does someone have a similar example ?
Thanks

0 6 639
6 REPLIES 6

Using two tables in one app is a good approach. For example if you have ingredientโ€™s prices in inventory table, you can calculate recipeโ€™s total price with a virtual column so if the ingredientโ€™s price changes, it will update the recipeโ€™s price as well. This is what I have used with two different restaurant apps.

Thanks for your reply.
What about DB ? Whats the benefit over regular tablesheets ?

SQL is not neededโ€ฆ spreadsheet is just fine.
You actually need 3 tables for your appโ€ฆ Inventory, Receipts and Incredients.
#1 - Receipt is a parent table where the Incredients are child records
#2 - Inventory is a parent as well where the Inredients are childs as well.

Ok thanksโ€ฆ I am still documenting myself as i am not familiar with the topic.