Bot works when I test it, but it doesn't get automatically triggered

Hello:

I’m new to AppSheet, so please bear with me.

I have built an Appsheet app based on data in Google Sheets. It works fine.
I have built my first bot that sends a Slack message triggered by an add to one of the sheets in Google Sheets.
The event shows up when I add a row, and when I click the Test button, the Slack message is sent successfully.
But, I want the bot to trigger automatically and send the Slack message.
How do I make that happen?
Is it possibly related to TriggerCondition=TEST?

Here is the event data:
{
“$type”: “V2API.AppProcessExecution.RaisedEvent, V2API”,
“AppTemplateId”: “50abfcc9-300a-43be-a93f-b99a1a0d72cc”,
“AppTemplateVersion”: “1.000053”,
“EventName”: “System Event”,
“EventId”: “-1”,
“EventInstanceId”: “fb9c31be-ee00-49c8-8b60-72b6f417d9db”,
“TableName”: “Q Once Off Revenue”,
“AfterImage”: {
“_RowNumber”: “12”,
“Name”: “ABC”,
“Quantity”: “1”,
“Compliance”: “”,
“Impl, Training, Business Plans”: “”,
“Talks and External Training”: “”,
“Total”: “”
},
“TriggerCondition”: “TEST”,
“BotIdToRun”: “e587ec71-5738-4f97-9d8c-60520722d226”,
“ProcessId”: “c30251dc-123f-469a-a715-c804892c7045”,
“ProcessInstanceId”: “00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000”,
“UpdateMode”: 0
}

Thank you for any help you can provide,
Tom

0 9 1,635
9 REPLIES 9

Is your app deployed?

As @Marc_Dillon and @Steve, have noted in their respective posts, apps that are undeployed (prototype mode) do not have all capabilities enabled. Whether this is the problem depends on how you have your Event implemented. For example, Scheduled Bots (those that run Daily, Monthly, etc) WILL NOT automatically trigger for undeployed (FREE) apps.

In your case, it would appear that you are attempting to use a webhook to connect to Slack’s API? I have not extensively used webhooks but I BELIEVE you should be able to test them, even in an automatic fashion, in undeployed apps…as long as the Bot is not a Scheduled Bot.