Can't do a filteredview for Dashboards?

Hi all,
I’m really struggling trying to get a simple app to work - I’m a PHP and Javascript programmer et al but so much of this AppSheet system is counterintuitive for me I’m afraid!

It’s an inventory app. I simply have a list of categories in a table, and I want users to be able to click on them, and if the category has subcategories then it shows them. Either way, it shows a list of items. Sounds so simple!

But now I’m finding that I can’t do LINKTOFILTEREDVIEW with Dashboard. That is, I have two views that work great if I do a LinkToFilteredView to them directly, but as soon as they are in a dashboard it doesn’t work.

This is an example of the expression that works great - when I’m directly linking to a non-Dashboard view:

LINKTOFILTEREDVIEW(Display list of subcategories, [CategoryName] = [_THISROW].[CategoryName])

But then this won’t work:

LINKTOFILTEREDVIEW(Combo display of category items and list of subcategories, [CategoryName] = [_THISROW].[CategoryName])

Anyone know what I’m doing wrong??

I really wish there was an example app that had categories of items, plus subcategories, plus subsubcategories, plus subsubsubcategories. Would save me so many days of trying to figure this all out!

toby

0 1 381
1 REPLY 1

How often would they make changes to filter the Dashboard? There are two possible options:

Option 1: (this is what I did in my app and is good if they aren’t changing the filters super often)