Change in parent table to calculate in child

OK, I have a quote builder for my small construction company that I am working on. I have a project table that I can put markup, per hour rate and tax percentage in. Then I go to estimate items and add each item with things like item, quantity and hours needed for each item. If I set the per hour rate to say $200 as in the example all my calculations work, but when I decide to change my hourly rate in the projects view it will not update to my total cost of previously added items in estimates form. It only applies to new ones.
I am thinking I need some way to trigger a recalculation on columns for previous items but I can not seem to find out how.

Thanks,
Matt

0 4 170
4 REPLIES 4

Which table here is the parent and which is the child? Where is the calculation running that depends on the hourly rate that is input in the โ€œProject Formโ€ shown, and what is that calculation expression?

I am fairly new at this, only about 6 months.

I may be calling them the wrong thing but I assume the Project is the parent and the Estimate is the child since the total cost in the Project table is calculated by all the items in the Estimate table for that Project, with that being said the calculation for the Project Form total is being made in the Estimate Form Sub Total column then all Sub Totals for that project are added together to the Project Form Total which is a virtual column. (not shown in picture it is down the page a little).

Here is expression for Estimate Sub Total: ([Material Cost](1+[Project].[Tax])+([Labor Hours]([Project].[Hourly Rate]))+([SubCon Cost]))*(1+[Project].[OH&P]).

Thanks,
Matt

Yes, it sounds like you are correct about Project=parent, Estimate=child.