COVID19 Triage

Hi Folks

I am new to AppSheet and not a programmer. Our company deploys nurses and PCAs to work in homes of clients who need personalized home care.

I have used a Google Form to get daily updates on the status of the employees but because their input is often inconsistent (name, phone #) it creates problems when we try to evaluate the responses to the daily schedule.

I used AppSheet to generate an App but it does not honor the regular expression that restricts the phone numbers to 10 numeric digits.

How can I get around this?

You could use a Valid If expression as a column constraint.

Thank you Ron

Can you tell me where do I do that?

Thank you. I have looked at the “examples” and they are all cryptic. I would like to see real examples. Like

IF ISNUMBER[_THIS] AND LEN([_THIS]) = 10 AND LEFT([_THIS],1) <> 1 AND LEFT([_THIS], 1) <> 0 AND MID([_THIS],1,1) <> 0 AND MID([_THIS],1,1) <> 1 THEN
Phone number is acceptable.

The expression I had in Google forms worked but did not carry over

^[2-9]{1}[0-9]{9}$

\b[2-9][0-9]{9}\b

Dear Jahmoon,

I am not a programmer either, I will try to do my best to interpret your regular expression in google forms:

Your first number must be any from 2 to 9 (exclude 1 and 0)
You must have 9 more numbers from 0 to 9

To do this in AppSheet I would:

• Set the Phone field as “Number”.
  • Edit that field and in “Type Details” set a minimum value of 2000000 and a máximum value of 9999999
1 Like

Pablo, that is exactly the type of solution I wanted. Thank you very much. I will try it!

1 Like

The app reads the form, it sees the word telephone and it insists the input is a phone (yet it allows text)

I change it to a number, it reads number, I put in minimum and maximum values and it does not allow any input. It just puts in 2,000,000,000/ Sigh!

The app reads the form, it sees the word telephone and it insists the input is a phone (yet it allows text)

I don’t understand “insists”