Create slice with latest 2 dates

I am new to Appsheet and trying to create a slice with the most recent 2 dates of a field called [date]

So the table is like this:
[ticker] [date] [value]
Ticker1 2021-01-02 10
Ticker 2 2021-01-02 11
Ticker1 2021-01-03 20
Ticker2 2021-01-03 15
Ticker1 2021-01-04 100
Ticker2 2021-01-04 120

The slice should return
Ticker1 2021-01-03 20
Ticker2 2021-01-03 15
Ticker1 2021-01-04 100
Ticker2 2021-01-04 120

It sounds very simple, but I canโ€™t seem to find the right expression to make it work.

1 2 184
2 REPLIES 2

Maybe the following slice filter expression

IN([Date], TOP(SORT(SELECT(Table Name[Date], [ticker]=[_THISROW].[ticker]),TRUE),2))

MultiTech
Participant V

This is what I call โ€œbrute forceโ€ - and it works, because brute force always works. But itโ€™s rarely the actual way you should actually go about it.
3X_3_0_30febb59817b0654c60ad7667e9b0cc4757f1ea2.jpeg 3X_d_5_d51363a862e7ab883241c312ac5d7f271579cdd3.gif

• Brute force is helpful to prove that something is possible, that the results will actually work if given the correct data.

The main issue here is that youโ€™re running a SELECT() formula for each row in the table; which means you end up with an N^N number of calculations happening. (Which can get really crazy, really fast.)

I would fundamentally switch things around.

• Create a Parent level in your app - for the Ticker types
  • Add a reference into your data entry table TO the ticker table
    • this will automatically group each ticker entry into groups for each ticker type inside a [Related TickerPrices] column (or whatever you called your data entry table)
  • From here youโ€™ll end up with a REF_ROW() on the Ticker table
    • Then you can pull out the TOP() two pretty easy:
      TOP([Related TickerTrackers], 2)
      • You may need to apply an ORDERBY() around the REF_ROW() to make sure things are in the correct order; fyi.
        OrderBy(REF_ROWS(...), [Date], true)