Dependent Drop-down in Nested Form

Hello,

I’m new at appsheet and on my first attempt to create an app I already big (at least for my skills…).

My app has a nested form with four tables.
PARENT FORM
CHILD FORM
COMPANIES
EXPENSES

In the parent form which company is selected through a dependent drop-down list (Region - County - Company based on values in Table “Companies”)

In the child form is the expense submition. Here I would like to based on the country selected in Parent Form, to build a dependent drop-down list for the expenses (Country - Expense Category - Expense Type, based on the information in “Expenses” table.

Is this possible?

1 9 1,161
9 REPLIES 9

I suppose it’s great that several users such as miself without much knowledge on Appsheet or programming see the potential in this tool to aim for the Pulitzer Price.

As I mentioned, I’m a beginner so I wasn’t really sure what to look for and therefore I’ve asked that’s what community are for.

Before posting I’ve searched and re-searched based on my need and not on technical stuff which I was unaware of.

We recently gained the ability to use chained de-refs, So I’m going to try and use those, but the following is not tested.

I assume you have a [Country] column selection in the parent table, and your first selection in the child table will be the [Expense Category]. In this case, set a valid_if expression for the [Expense Category] column, similar to:

SELECT( Expenses[Expense Category] , [Country] = [_THISROW].[Parent Ref].[Country] )

Thank you very much for the advise. I will try it tomorrow. I let you know If it worked and in case I’ll need to make some readjustment I’ll provide with the solution based on your guidance.

Hello Marc,

Once again, I’m thankfull for you help.

I readjusted the name of columns and tables accordingly as follows:
“SELECT(Accounting Information[Expense Category] , [Country] = [_THISROW].[Request Number].[Country of Company] )”