Event (Training Class) signup app

I’m brand new to the AppSheet platform (a G Suite customer) and am looking to set up a simple app, quickly, that will show a list of training courses and allow my users to sign up to attend a course.

I looked through sample apps and searched this community but didn’t really see anything that fit. Any suggestions for getting started? Can someone point me in the right direction?

0 22 802
22 REPLIES 22

Hi @Brian_Gorsky, welcome!

Would you like your course content to also be contained with your application, or do you have links to external course content that you’re trying to share with users?

No course content. The course is classroom based.

Create the app with related table structure where the course is the parent and sign ups are child records. Please check this article…

@Aleksi - So if I wanted to have a list of Courses and each course have multiple sessions (same content but offered at multiple different dates and times), would the Course still be the parent, course sessions the child of that and then individual sign ups the child of course sessions?

If the session’s content is the same, they should be child of Course… meaning one Course can have multi sessions. Then individuals would be child of Sessions… meaning again that one session will have multi individuals. The same individual can join all sessions if needed. Probably not happening but in generally possible.

In creating the signup form in AppSheet, I want to pull the logged in users name into the NAME field and their email into the EMAIL field. I have successfully used USEREMAIL() as the initial value and that works. When I tried the USERNAME() variable for the initial value in the name field, the field disappeared from the form even though it is set to SHOW? in the table columns.settings.

I removed USERNAME() from initial value and hoped it would re-appear but it did not. Seems bizarre. Thoughts?