Formula in Google Sheet or App

I am trying to make an Inventory management app, which has in-bound and out-bound products features, so products’ cost and quantity value will change when there are new inventory coming in (plan to use an average for products’ cost)

However, I see some examples from appsheet website that directly put formulas into the google sheet.
I have read https://help.appsheet.com/en/articles/961393-spreadsheet-formulas, but still don’t get it about the differences between using google sheet formula and app formula (I am quite new to the appsheet)

What are the differences between app formulas and google sheet formula?

What are the pros and cons to put formulas in the google sheet vs. app formula?

If you have useful resources or examples, could you please share or give some suggestions?

Solved Solved
1 2 1,411
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hey @Poovich.

There are some big differences between sheet formulas and app formulas, I’ll try and highlight things below.

Google Sheet Formulas

• Computed by a server

• so even really heavy formulas are processed relatively fast
  • all g-sheet formulas available (including custom formulas you might create with apps script)

• Only calculated when new data hits the sheet

• meaning you have to wait for the sheet to calculate the values, then send that data back to your app before you get the new values
      This is a big issue for a lot of apps, and can really cause a slow down during your sync times

App Formulas

• Computed by the end-user device

• that means if someone’s using an old POS with no memory left, it will run slow and hard; if I’m running on a brand new Apple device, things will be fast and responsive; if I’m on a PC, things will work a little faster, but performance is still largely based on the device’s resources
  • limited to only those supported by AppSheet

• IF INSIDE A PHYSICAL COLUMN:

• they’re calculated anytime you modify a record;