Get THIS column name

I need get the column name value (in text) for something like:

SELECT(Opciones[Opcion],[Pregunta]=[THIS_COLUMN_NAME])

Is there any way to do it? I want this because the column name is the same as the value i have stored in the column “Pregunta”. I don’t know if there is another way to do it, i’m very new in AppSheet. Thanks in advance

1 11 315
11 REPLIES 11

I’m afraid you can’t read the column name and then use it with your formula. Though it sounds that you trying to use something like…
SELECT(Opciones[Opcion],[Pregunta]=[_THISROW].[ColumnName])

Thanks for the response, Aleksi.
Actually i’m using this: SELECT(Preguntas[Texto],[Pregunta]=“S1-P1”) (where S1-P1 is my column name) and it’s just working fine, but i just wanna know if there is a way to not to hardcode the ColumnName part

Sorry for my English, but thanks for the response

Try with…
SELECT(Preguntas[Texto],[Pregunta]=[_THISROW].[S1-P1])

I see this topic wasn't solved. I ahve the same problem here.

Have you been able to solve it by yourself in the meantime?

There is no way to get the column name using an expression.

Do you have any suggestion to get around this issue?

Thanks for the reply!

BTW, why do you need to get the column name? That's something you should know as the creator and probably you need to do something like that if your tables are not normalized.

Try making a new post explaining exactly what you need

I have a Table A that includes 10 columns of prices.

Then, I have another Table B in which I have 10 virtual columns that extract certain prices from the Table A. For all the 10 virtual columns, the formula is exactly the same, except for one parameter, that coincides with the column's name (from both tables A and B). For example: SELECT(Table A[Column A], ([Column B] = "Price column 1")). For the next 9 virtual columns' formulas, I had to replace "manually" the parameter "Price column 1" to "Price column 2", "Price column 3", etc.