Google tasks integration

Wondering if anyone has experience with integrating Google Tasks with AppSheet. I’ve got a column in my data table for ‘Notes’ and it would be pretty sweet if those notes actually got saved to google tasks. I’ve got no experience with APIs though. Wondering if you can integrate AppSheet directly to Google Tasks or do I need to use a webhook and open an account with Zapier. I’d prefer to do it directly. Also, do you connect Google Tasks to AppSheet or AppSheet to Google Tasks? Does it matter or do you have to do both?

4 10 2,433
10 REPLIES 10

You would create a webhook from AppSheet to post to Tasks. No need for Zapier. This is the relevant doc page - https://developers.google.com/tasks/reference/rest/v1/tasks/insert

How would I use the webhook without going through Zapier? Every AppSheet tutorial video I’ve seen says, make a webhook and go through Zapier.

You would need to write a few lines of code in google apps script or you could use a Google cloud function. Our company provides paid services at a very nominal price. Please DM me if interested.

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

There is no direct integration between the two.

Does that mean using a webhook wouldn’t work?

Can google tasks be added as a google calendar source?

Hi all, any update on this request ?

Did you try asking chat GPT?

• here's the answer that I got, literally copy/paste... everything looks good to me on initial overview. 
  • Might need to make some tweaks to the script, I haven't tested it out as I'm not in front of a computer, but this looks basically ready to go

QUESTION Model: GPT-4

I need a Google apps script function that will create a Google tasks from a web hook from an app sheet app.

RESPONSE

To create a Google Task from a webhook triggered by an AppSheet app, you'll need to create a Google Apps Script project that exposes an API endpoint, which can be called by the AppSheet webhook. Here's a step-by-step guide: