Grouping numbers into Ranges with a Corresponding Label

Hi guys, noob here. I’m trying to create and display a label which summarizes a numeric value for each item in a table. The numeric column is a rating on a scale of 1-100 and the label will represent a range of values such as 95 to 100, 80 to 94, 70 to 79, etc.

In Excel I would build groups in a pivot table or use a VLOOKUP on the source table, but I can’t figure out how to do the equivalent in AppSheet.

My app is a little personal project that let’s me review video games. I have only a single table (GAMES) with a column called “SCORE”. I added a virtual column called “Score Range” to hold the new label and used a Switch expression thus:

SWITCH(
  [SCORE] >= 95, "Classic",
  [SCORE] >= 86, "Amazing",
  [SCORE] >= 80, "Very Good",
  [SCORE] >= 70, "Good",
  [SCORE] >= 60, "Your mileage may vary",
  [SCORE] >= 50, "Not Bad, but Flawed",
  [SCORE] >= 40, "Bad",
  [SCORE] >= 25, "Horrible",
  [SCORE] < 25, "You've been warned",
  ISBLANK([SCORE]), "none"
)

However, the output of the Switch is a Yes/No value rather than the Text label that I want. I tried IFS and got the same result. Any idea what I can use to get the text I’m after?

Thanks in advance

Solved Solved
0 14 717
  • UX
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ah I found the problem. It was because I was setting the initial value of the [Gameplay score] column using a Predict model. That column is used in the formula of the SCORE column. I removed that Prediction and the Score Range works!

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

This should work fine:

IFS(
  [SCORE] >= 95, "Classic",
  [SCORE] >= 86, "Amazing",
  [SCORE] >= 80, "Very Good",
  [SCORE] >= 70, "Good",
  [SCORE] >= 60, "Your mileage may vary",
  [SCORE] >= 50, "Not Bad, but Flawed",
  [SCORE] >= 40, "Bad",
  [SCORE] >= 25, "Horrible",
  [SCORE] < 25, "You've been warned",
  ISBLANK([SCORE]), "none"
)