Hello all, Just wanting to get some feedback...

Jenn_M

Hello all,

Just wanting to get some feedback on what the best approach might be for app design, or whether the following scenario is possible (explained in broad terms).

I have a source workbook, call it a master table. See attached image. I need an application where I can (1) pull a row from this table and edit it and (2) add a new row.

However, before these rows get inserted back into the master table, they must pass a set of to-dos and checklists (such as shirts ordered, received, in service). After the last to-do has been completed, row can then get inserted back into master table and all to-dos, checklists, comments, associated with that row can

be deleted.

I was imagining either one Appsheet containing the master sheet and communicating with a โ€œchecklistsโ€ Appsheet or simply one Appsheet with different sections. Iโ€™ve had issues trying to create both (I have limited knowledge).

Any ideas?

Thanks!

0 4 376
4 REPLIES 4

tony1

@Jenn_M If the to-dos and checklists are the same for each row and wonโ€™t change often, then Iโ€™d recommend the following:

First, donโ€™t think about removing/inserting the rows back into the master table. Instead, create a new column called Status that indicates whether the row is finished or not. You can use a slice to view just the unfinished or just the finished rows in your table. help.appsheet.com - Slices: The Essentials https://www.appsheet.com/samples/This-app-shows-how-to-slice-your-data?appGuidString=984a5f04-96f6-4...

Second, add a column for each to-do task. You can make it a Yes/No type column.

Third, you can use an app formula in your Status column that checks whether all of the to-do columns are finished. The formula would look like this:

AND([Todo1] = TRUE, [Todo2] = TRUE, [Todo3] = TRUE)

https://help.appsheet.com/data/columns/app-formulas-and-initial-values

Slices: The Essentials help.appsheet.com

Jenn_M